50 book challenge

24Oct07

I am thinking of joining the 50 book challenge, promoted by my writing group at Shelfari, next year.   The idea is simple, the challenge less so: To read 50 books within a year.  It is not impossible, but is extremely demanding.   I have also to accommodate my monthly editions of National Geographic (and university-related books, if I decide to go back next semester).   Basically, I have settled for failing before I even start.   Still, it will provide me with the motivation required to push myself to read the greatest possible number of books I can.

I am a reader, however I require three books to read at same time.  I’m certainly not the only person in the world with this problem, but only when a book bores me.   I know of people who leave a book in the car, office or beach house, but I carry all three books with me through the week.   I totally wish I could concentrate on just one book from beginning to end, but it doesn’t work.   Adding to the challenge of reading 50 books within a year, I have also a habit of writing down any interesting parts of each book to search for further details…   As an educational exercise, this practice is magnificent, providing me with an expansive knowledge of useless information, but it is also time consuming.

For example, I recently finished “Dubliners” by Joyce (see 14/10 blogging).  The book could easily be finished with three days of full attention, but it has taken me close to two weeks.  Between one short story and other, I have searched and read more about thirty to forty topics.  From a 137 page book.  I’ve learned about James Joyce’s life, streets of old Dublin, Italian immigration to Ireland and Argentina, Charles Stewart Parnell, the Irish catholic middle class, the British House of Commons and 19th century publishing processes in England…

A picky reader, I also see no thrill in the romance, fantasy or sci-fi genres, leaving me with more limited choices.

Let’s see what I can make of it



No Responses Yet to “50 book challenge”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment